Dear Colleague:

It is a pleasure to announce that our next workshop ACCOTA' 2012, will be held December 3 to 7, 2012 in the beautiful port of Huatulco in the State of Oaxaca, México. As in earlier ACCOTA’s, our aim is to bring together mathematicians interested in combinatorics and computing, and their interactions. The Workshop’s lectures and contributed papers, as well as the informal mathematical discussions, have proved to be of great interest to participants in previous years. Each discipline represented in the meeting can be of great use in each of the other disciplines, and the purpose of the Workshop is to increase the interaction among researchers in each of the fields represented.

As in ACCOTA’96, ACCOTA’98, ACCOTA’2000, ACCOTA’2002, ACCOTA’2004, ACCOTA’2006, ACCOTA’2008 and ACCOTA’2010 workshops, we are expecting internationally recognized mathematicians in all the areas of combinatorics and computer science to participate in the workshop this year.

Some of our previous participants have been: G. Aguilar, A. Alcántar, J. L. Alfonsin, G. Araujo, D. Archdeacon, J. Arocha, D. Avella, C. Balbuena, M. Balinski, D. Bokal, J. Bokowski, V. Bonanzinga, J. Bonin, A. Bouchet, V.J. Bracho, J. Brennan, G. Calvillo, K. Cameron, C. Colbourn, W. Cunninghan, M. Chari, G. Chen, G.Cohen, M. Chudnovsky, J.A. De la Peña, A. De Mier, P. Delgado, J.L. Díaz, J. Edmonds, S. Eliahou, G. Even, R. Faudree, A. P. Figueroa, A. Flores, E. Gafni, H. Galeana, E. Gallegos, G. Gallegos, E. García-Moreno, L.D. García P., I. Gitler, H. Glover, L. Goddyn, M. Goemans, J.M. Gómez, D. González, R. Gould, A. Guedes de O., M. Guevara, M. Ghebleh, C. Grima, A. Hansberg, S.Hazan, P. Hell, M. Herlihy, P. Hlineny, M. Jacobson, R. Jajcay, T. Jajcayova, I. Janovitz, F. Jaeger, T.R. Jensen, H.A. Juárez, G. Karolyi, A. Kelmans, K. Knauer, B. Korte, G. Kortsarz, J. Kratochvil, A. Kundgen, F. Larrión, X. Li, I. López, R. López-Bracho, J.O. Loyola, F. Luca, W. Mader, M. Manrique, A. Marquez, J. Martínez-Bernal, D. Mayhew, A. Menezes, C. Merino, L. Mendoza, G. Mohar, A. Montejano, L.P. Montejano, J.J. Montellano, G. Morales-Luna, U.S.R. Murty,W. Myrvold, D. Naddef, A. Nakamoto, J. Nesetril, V. Neuman-Lara, S. Norine, M. Noy, D. Oliveros, M. Olsen, B. Oporowski, E. O’Reilly, E. Oshea, K. Ozeki, J. Pach, D. Peleg, S. Pérez-Mancilla, M.A. Pizaña, J. Ra. Portillo, S. Provan, S. Rajsbaum, J. Ramírez-Alfonsín, M. Ramírez, I. Rapaport, M.P. Revuelta, E. Reyes, B. Richter, E. Rivera, N. Robertson, G. Rodríguez, R. Rojas, D. Romero, M. Ruszinko, F. Sagols, J. Salas, G. Salazar, A. Sánchez-Flores, Y. Sano, I. Sarmiento, R. San Agustín, J. Seade, P. Seymour, B. Shepherd, M. Simonovits, J. Solymosi, A. Sprague, M. Stehlik, R. Strausz, J.L. Szwarcfiter, H. Tapia, R. Thomas, V. D. Tonchev, K. Truemper, J. Urrutia, C.E. Valencia, J.C. Valenzuela, E. Vallejo, L. Verde,J. Verstraete, D. Vertigan, J. I. Villarreal, R. Villarreal, R. Villarroel, L.A. Vinh. D.Welsh, G. Whittle, P.Wiederhol, P. Wollan, C. Zamfirescum, A. Zapata, F. Zaragoza, B. Zavala, E. Zeron, R.E. Zuazua.

For this Workshop, we hope to count with most of our previous participants, although we are also extending invitations to other colleagues and will notify their participation once confirmed. The program is planned to include 40 talks. Because of the limited number of time slots, we would greatly appreciate if you would let us know whether or not your intention to participate before September 7, 2012. (Please fill in the registration form at

Participants must submit a title and abstract of their talk. Because of budget cuts and restraints in our national scientific programs we can only promise to make our best effort to cover a part of the travel expenses or hotel expenses for exceptional requests.

The members of the organizing committee are: Gabriela Araujo (IMATE-UNAM), Isidoro Gitler (CINVESTAV-IPN), Sergio Rajsbaum (IMATE-UNAM), Enrique Reyes (CINVESTAV-IPN) and Gelasio Salazar (IICO-UASLP).

Sponsors: Departamento de Matemáticas CINVESTAV-IPN, IMATE-UNAM and CONACYT.

A second announcement will be sent in June to all who intend to participate and have let us known so. All relevant information (final program, hotels and reservations, transportation, etc.) will be available at the Internet address

We look forward to seeing you in Huatulco, and we hope that you will feel encouraged to attend.

Isidoro Gitler
Departamento de Matemáticas

Adriana Aranda
Departamento de Matemáticas
Apartado Postal 14-740
07000 México, D.F. MEXICO
Phone: (52-55)5747-3846
Fax: (52-55)5747-3906
E-mail: accota [at] or adriana [at]