Relationship Room

• At the Oaxaca airport there are taxis and vans to the downtown: Here



Dear Colleague:

It is a pleasure to announce that our next workshop ACCOTA'2008, Aspectos Combinatorios y Computacionales de Optimizacion, Topologia y Algebra (Combinatorial and Computational Aspects of Optimization, Topology and Algebra) will be held December 7 to 13, 2008 in the beautiful historic city of Oaxaca, Oaxaca State, Mexico. As in earlier ACCOTA's, our aim is to bring together mathematicians interested in combinatorics and computing, and their interactions. The Workshop's lectures and contributed papers, as well as the opportunity for informal mathematical discussion, have proved to be of great interest to participants in previous years. Each discipline represented in the meeting can be of great use in each of the other disciplines, and the purpose of the Workshop is to increase the interaction among researchers in each of the fields represented.

As in ACCOTA'95, ACCOTA'96, ACCOTA'98, ACCOTA'2000, ACCOTA'2002, ACCOTA'2004, and ACCOTA'2006 workshops, we are expecting internationally recognized mathematicians in the areas of combinatorics and computer science to participate in the workshop this year.

For this Workshop, we hope to count with most of our previous participants, for whom we are asking confirmation: A. Alcantar, G. Araujo, D. Archdeacon, J. Arocha, C. Balbuena, M. Balinski, V. Bonanzinga, J. Bonin, A. Bouchet, V.J. Bracho, G. Calvillo, C. Colbourn, M. Chari, M. Chudnovsky, J.A. De la Peña, A. de Mier, J. Edmonds, S. Eliahou, G. Even, R. Faudree, H. Galeana, E. Gallegos, E. Garcia-Moreno, I. Gitler, H.Glover, L. Goddyn, M. Goemans, R. Gould, A. Guedes de O., P. Hell, M. Herlihy, P. Hlineny, M. Jacobson, H.A. Juarez, G. Karolyi, B. Korte, G. Kortsarz, J. Kratochvil, F. Larrion, I. Lopez, R. Lopez-Bracho, F. Luca, W. Mader, J. Martinez-Bernal, D. Mayhew, A. Menezes, C. Merino, L. Mendoza, G. Mohar, L. Montejano, J.J. Montellano, G. Morales-Luna, U.S.R. Murty, W. Myrvold, D. Naddef, J. Nesetril, S. Norine, M. Noy, M. Olsen, B. Oporowski, E. Oshea, J. Pach, D. Peleg, S. Provan, S. Rajsbaum, J. Ramirez-Alfonsin, I. Rapaport, M.P. Revuelta, B. Richter, E. Rivera, N. Robertson, G. Rodriguez, R. Rojas, D. Romero, M. Ruszinko, F. Sagols, G. Salazar, A. Sanchez-Flores, I. Sarmiento, R. San Agustin, J. Seade, P. Seymour, B. Shepherd, A. Sprague, R. Strausz, J.L. Szwarcfiter, H. Tapia, R. Thomas, K. Truemper, J. Urrutia, C.E. Valencia, J.C. Valenzuela, E. Vallejo, L. Verde, J. Verstraete, D. Vertigan, R. Villarreal, D. Welsh, G. Whittle, P. Wiederhold, P. Wollan, F. Zaragoza, E. Zeron, R.E. Zuazua.

We are also extending invitations to other colleagues and will notify their participation once confirmed.

The program is planned to include aproximate 40 talks. Because of the limited number of time slots, we would greatly appreciate if you would let us know your intention to participate ASAP.

The members of the organizing committee are: Gabriela Araujo (Imate UNAM), Isidoro Gitler (CINVESTAV-IPN), Sergio Rajsbaum (Imate UNAM), Criel Merino (Imate-Oaxaca UNAM), Feliu Sagols (CINVESTAV-IPN), Gelasio Salazar (IICO-UASLP), Carlos Valencia (CINVESTAV-IPN) and Francisco Zaragoza (UAM-Azc).

Sponsors: Departamento de Matematicas CINVESTAV-IPN, IMATE-UNAM, CONACYT and SMM.

A second announcement will be sent in August to all who intend to participate and have let us known so. All relevant information (final program, hotels and reservations, transportation, etc.) will be available at the Internet address given below.


Laura Valencia
Departamento de Matematicas
Apartado Postal 14-740, 07000
Mexico, D.F.

Phone: (52-55)5747-3871;

Fax: (52-55)5747-3876

laura [at] math [dot] cinvestav [dot] mx
igitler [at] math [dot] cinvestav [dot] mx
accota [at] math [dot] cinvestav [dot] mx

We look forward to seeing you in Oaxaca, and we hope that you will feel encouraged to attend.

Isidoro Gitler
Departamento de Matematicas